Recognition of Professional Excellence

Each year KEMA recognizes excellence through the Presentation of specific awards intended to honor achievement. Those awards for the calendar year 2019 nominees/recipients are as follows:

Outstanding Service Award- is presented to individuals/groups inside or outside the Association, who have put forth significant effort either during a specified period of service, or for a specific action or accomplishment, which furthers the aim of the Association and is beyond mere performance of regular duties. **2019 Nominee:**

211 Help Line

2019 Outstanding Service Award Recipient:

211 Help Line

Instructor of the Year Award - Randy Reinecker Instructor of the Year Award is presented in recognition of an instructor who has performed exemplary service in providing emergency management related education and training programs. This award was named after long time McPherson County Emergency Management Coordinator Randy Reinecker, one of the first local coordinators to provide training for Kansas Emergency Management and who traveled extensively throughout the State of Kansas training emergency managers and other emergency responders to better protect their communities and the State of Kansas.

2019 Nominee:

2019 Randy Reinecker Instructor of the Year Award Recipient:

Outstanding Emergency Management Support Professional Award- Leon H Mannell Outstanding Emergency Management Support Professional is presented in recognition of an individual who provides critical support, or behind the scene services vital to the success of an Emergency Management organization, and that are above and beyond routine responsibilities. This award was renamed the Leon H Mannell Award to honor a former RADEF Officer of the Kansas Division of Emergency Preparedness.

2019 Nominees:

Chance Hayes, Wichita National Weather Service
Jack Joseph, Sedgwick County GIS
Chad Omitt, Topeka National Weather Service
Justin Couse, Russell County Emergency Management
Bret Rowe, Kansas Division of Emergency Management

2019 Leon H Mannell Outstanding Emergency Mgmt Support Professional Award Recipient:

Chad Omitt, Topeka National Weather Service



Outstanding New Emergency Management Professional Award- Col Mahlon G Weed Outstanding New Emergency Management Professional is presented to an individual who has served 24 months or less in the position and has made specific accomplishments and/or improvements in the local program. This award was renamed to honor Col Mahlon G Weed, former Deputy Director of Kansas Division of Emergency Preparedness.

2019 Nominees:

Michelle Barkley, Saline County Emergency Management Rex Beemer, Ford County Emergency Management

2019 Col Mahlon G Weed Outstanding New Emergency Management Professional Award Recipient:

Rex Beemer, Ford County Emergency Management

Emergency Management Professional of the Year- Owen U Turrentine Emergency Management Professional of the Year is presented in recognition of an Emergency Management professional and leader who exemplifies the ideals of professional public service and has met professional certification requirements. This award was renamed to honor Owen U Turrentine, former operations coordinator with Kansas Division of Emergency Preparedness.

2019 Nominees:

Bryan Ellis, Harvey County Emergency Management Mickie Helberg, Graham County emergency Services

2019 Owen U Turrentine Emergency Management Professional of the Year Award Recipient:

Mickie Helberg, Graham County Emergency Management

Honorary Member-The policies and procedures concerning "honorary Membership" provide that any person who has made an outstanding contributing to the purposes of the Association may be chosen as an honorary member. The "Honorary Membership Award" is aimed at persons outside the Association who have aided or served the Association in some outstanding manner.

2019 Honorary Member Recipient:

Shawn Wheat, WIBW

Life Member Award - presented to members who have significantly contributed to the purposes of the Association over a period of years.

2019 Life Member Award Recipient:

KEMA President's Choice- is presented to a person, group or organization that has made a significant contribution to their agency, the emergency management profession or our Association. The President will have sole discretion as to the recipient of this award.

2019 KEMA President's Choice Award Recipient:

Shawnee County Emergency Management

