Log in

Kansas Emergency
Management Association

KCEM Program - RE-certification

 Re-Certification Information    

Download the complete KCEM guidelines, criteria and application form here.

Fill in the appropriate form, save it to your computer and email completed
re-certification KCEM applications to:

Natasha Cundy, KCEM

Contact Natasha with questions
about re-certification or lifetime certification.

For information about initial certification,
click here


  1. Applicant must continue to meet the requirement of A2 (Employment Requirement) of initial certification.
  2. If the initial certification did not include current NIMS training requirements for the emergency management function, then these courses will also be required for recertification. These classes can count toward the twenty-four (24) hours of required professional training hours (see #3 below).
  3. Applicant must have completed at least twenty-four (24) hours of professional training during the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the anniversary date of initial certification or previous recertification. No more than twelve (12) hours of non-EMI/FEMA/DHS training will be accepted for recertification. Duplicate classes during this twenty-four (24) month period will be unacceptable. Any professional training submitted for credit must be Emergency Management related. If necessary, the committee will use its discretion in determining the relevance of a submitted course.
  4. The applicant shall continue to conduct or be a major participant in a functional, tabletop or full-scale exercise each year since initial certification/the previous recertification. Official documentation must be provided. An exercise sign-in sheet or After Action Report is considered sufficient exercise documentation, so long as the participant’s attendance and role in the exercise can be clearly determined. Other exercise documentation may be accepted at the discretion of the committee.
  5. The applicant must currently be performing the functions of an emergency management professional within the state of Kansas. For non-resident Kansas applicants, documentation must accompany the application of emergency management related work performed within the state of Kansas for each year of the recertification period.

Any previously certified applicant who has failed to renew his/her certification within twelve (12) months of the renewal date shall be required to apply for and meet the requirements of initial certification.  

If initial certification is required, applicant should see KCEM Certification.


The Kansas Emergency Management Association’s Standards and Practices Committee Proposed the creation of a Lifetime Kansas Certified Emergency Manager designation, which was approved by action of the KEMA Board on November 8, 2017.

The Lifetime KCEM designation is an honor bestowed by the KEMA Board of Directors.  This designation recognizes the candidate is retired as a full time emergency management practitioner and has been, and is qualified to uphold the standards and practices of the KCEM program.

The candidate must complete an application letter (including the retirement date), and shall include a narrative stating the achievements in the field of emergency management.  One letter of recommendation from a current KCEM shall be submitted with the application, stating the achievements deserving of this honor. The application letter with narrative, and letter of recommendation shall be submitted to the KCEM Re-certification Chair.  

To maintain the Lifetime KCEM status, the individual shall submit a request for renewal, including updated contact information, on a bi-annual basis. 

Learn more here.  If you have questions, contact the KCEM re-certification chair listed above.

© Copyright Kansas Emergency Management Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software